Round 2 report

No signs of yesterday’s three very long games showed, as the players immediately got stuck in during round 2. Some creative play was on display and commentators Yasser Seirwan and Stellan Brynell were surprised more than once.

Nils Grandelius against Gawain Jones contained a lot of interesting twists and turns from the start and fireworks was expected. But in the end a simple rook endgame appeared – and a draw was the outcome.

Tiger Hillarp Persson is in fine form and dismantled Ivan Saric with methodical play. Textbook use of the opposite coloured bishop attack made sure of the full point.

Pentala Harikrishna and Parham Maghsoodloo had another long game today. A well known Ruy Lopez endgame was stretched to 60 moves with both players trying hard to make things go in their favour. In the end multiple exchanges made sure only a draw was the possible outcome.

Nihal Sarin quickly got on the back foot as black against Dieter Nisipeanu. The German managed to win a pawn as the game entered a heavy pieces endgame. Sarin exchanged queens and defended the rook endgame well enough to hang on to the draw.

Despite another three draws it is clear that these eight players are in Malmö to fight. No-one gives an inch!

Round 1 report

The 25th edition of the TePe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament got off to a great start with the players showing an impressive fighting spirit. In the end only one game was decisive, but there was no holding back as three of the four games lasted well over six hours.

Gawain Jones won against Parham Maghsoodloo after getting the better of a complicated midddlegame (and despite missing the opportunity to end the game early with a beautiful combination at move 25!). Maghsoodloo fought on valiantly a piece down for a few hours, but could not prevent the inevitable.

TePe Sigeman veteran Tiger Hillarp Persson held his own as black against top rated Pentala Harikrishna. A hard fought battle ended with a queen endgame, a pawn on the 7th rank and perpetual check.

Young Nihal Sarin played very well and had the 2018 European champion Ivan Saric on the ropes, but allowed him an unbelievable escape in the seventh hour of play.

Sweden’s no 1 Nils Grandelius and Dieter Nisipeanu ended in a relatively quick draw, but only after both players managed to navigate a minefield of hidden tactics.

An entertaining start to the tournament that promises a great chess week in Malmö!

Drawing of lots

The drawing of lots has concluded. The first round will be played as follows:

P. Harikrishna – T. Hillarp-Persson
P. Maghsoodloo – G. Jones
N. Grandelius – D. Nisipeanu
N. Sarin – I. Saric

For the complete draw, see the results page.

The players who will face each other in the first round shake hands at the opening ceremony. Good luck to all the players!

Gawain Jones and Parham Maghsoodloo
Nihal Sarin and Ivan Saric
Dieter Nisipeanu and Nils Grandelius
Pentala Harikrishna and Tiger Hillarp Persson

Here are the participants in the TePe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament 2019

The Limhamn Chess Club is proud to invite the players, the chess audience, the media and the sponsors to the 25th annual Tepe Sigeman Chess Tournament. The tournament will take place at the Malmo Live conference centre in central Malmo. This year, eight players will play seven rounds, and as usual, the field is very interesting!

The home team comprises the defending champion GM Nils Grandelius (winner in both 2017 and 2018) and another former champion, GM Tiger Hillarp Persson (winner in 2008).

The highest rated challenger is Indian GM Pentala Harikrishna , who for many years has been the second highest rated player in India, after legendary former world champion Viswanathan Anand. He is accompanied by fellow Indian GM Nihal Sarin, who, at 14, is considered to be one of the biggest talents in Indian chess.

Another young talent is the current Junior World Champion, Iranian GM Parham Maghsoodloo, by many considered one of the most talented young players in the world.

Among the participants are also two European champions, GM Dieter Nisipeanu from Germany (who won in 2005) and GM Ivan Saric from Croatia (who won in 2018).

Finally, there is English GM Gawain Jones, twice winner of the English Championship and a well-known author of chess books.

As usual, only players known for their fighting skills have been invited, and we would like to congratulate all chess fans to the opportunity to once again see world-class chess live. Do not miss the opportunity to visit Malmo Live and follow the games live, guided by our commentators, grandmasters Yasser Seirawan and Stellan Brynell. For those who are not able to visit Malmo Live during the games, it will be possible to follow all games live on the Internet (

We would also like to thank all our sponsors, TePe, Sigeman & Co, Malmö Stad, Schackakademien, PWC, Mobile Labs, Management Partners, Grenspecialisten, Malmö Live, Ferring Läkemedel, Servicekuben, Wise IT, Max Matthiessen, AWA Sweden, Softhouse Consulting, SEB, Informationsteknik, Hotel Duxiana, and all others who once again have contributed to making this traditional chess event come true.

Once again, welcome to the 25th annual Tepe Sigeman Chess Tournament!